Happy Thanksgiving

I just got back from Austin Texas(that’s another blog) so I’m thankful to be home safe and sound with my dogs and bf.

Being a Social Work student really gives me perspective and helps me to not feel sorry for myself. I work at a local community health center twice a week and see patients in real need, pain and despair. Basic human needs like food, water, shelter and medical care are things we might take for granted everyday but there are people all over the world who don’t have their basic needs met on a daily basis. That makes me sad and I think of them a lot but especially during this holiday season.

I encourage you to help, even if just with the little things like donate a bag of cans to your local food bank, volunteer your time and look at websites like http://www.heifer.org/gift for great ideas on how to give.

Living in Fairfield County CT, I also get to see the other side, the amount of wealth and excess never ceases to amaze me. I have a hard time not being judgemental of the wealth and excess. I want to hold these people accountable (many of them part of that %1) for not doing their part when they so easily can.

I try to rationalize it with “everyone has problems”  “money doesn’t buy happiness” and “we all process things differently”.

but it’s still hard to not let judgement rear its ugly head!

That said,  this Thanksgiving holiday I have some time off my school/internship/work schedule so I’m most thankful for the time that I’ve been given. I don’t take time for granted because I rarely have any!!! My schedule is insane right now. Grad school really eats away at a lot of my life so I’m looking forward to spending quality time with family and friends. I’m looking forward to getting into the city for my favorite holiday fairs. I’m only a 50 minute train ride from NYC and I love the city during the holidays.

I’m going to start my christmas shopping early and actually venture out on black friday which I have never done before.

And of course I’ll get to spend lots of time home with my doggies!

Elizabeth loves snuggling and lounging with me, which I’m so grateful for!

But I will be thinking of those in need, I will try to not take anything for granted and try to be as green as possible(It’s hard to think of the toll holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas have on our environment but that’s another blog!)

And since I don’t want to leave you on a sad note, here are some pics of Elizabeth from past Thanksgivings and Snoopy too!

Happy Thanksgiving to you from all of us!

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. i hear you sis, it brakes my heart to think of all the people who are not as privileged as i am and my kids. I live in a small apartment, im a single mom with social disabillity as my main income, yet i have health insurance and so do my kids, i am able to pay my bills every month and have food on the table for my family, my kids are healthy and well and more importantly i have the privilege to raise my kids and be home with them. I saw on the news the other day about this women who went to africa to adopt a boy, came back with four, 3 biological siblings and when the best friend of these boys saw they were leaving, he asked the white lady “if you give me one meal a day and i clean your house and work for you will you be my mom too” he was the fourth child she came back home with. it tears me apart to think of how many kids in need are in the world. And although i cant do much but pray for these innocents souls, i have sponsored two kids at the stamord shelter st. lukes lifes works, im getting a gift for a boy and a little girl just so they can have the christmass they probably wouldnt have otherwise. Ironically they gave me the greatest gift of all, the gift of giving which filled my heart with joy. Happy thanksgiving!!!!!

Leave a Reply

