Oscar Sunday

Havent posted in a while, I’ve been too busy but it is Oscar night! I wanted to share my thoughts of best picture nominations this year!

Nominated for best picture are:

The Help

The Descendants

The Artist

Extremely Loud, Incredibly Close

Midnight in Paris

Moneyball

The Tree of life

Hugo

War Horse

I’m upset I didn’t get to watch War Horse, Extremely loud, Hugo and The Artist. Most of these aren’t aren’t out on DVD yet and The Artist is still at the movies and didn’t get a chance to see it!

I think Uggie the Jack Russell in The Artist is the biggest star of the movie though and I love him, cant wait to watch this one, I hear lots of buzz this one will take the Oscar tonight!

Now I did get to see The Help, The Descendants, Midnight in Paris, The Tree of Life and Moneyball.

The Help was amazing! I loved the book and the movie stayed true to the story, had amazing acting and was truly touching and real! I think Octavia Spencer will take Best Supporting Actress for it but not sure if this will win for Best Picture, it would be awesome if it did!

The Descendants made an even bigger George Clooney fan than I already was and I hope he wins best actor for it because it was some of the best work I have had the pleasure of watching him do. The movie is sad but with humorous undertones. The story is interesting and well written. It’s about human relationships and what is more real than that. I really liked it.

Midnight in Paris with Owen Wilson, Rachel McAdams was a sweet, funny romantic comedy with a little sci-fi mixed in. As an avid reader and a wanna be writer, I could only fantasize about meeting such classic writers as Hemingway and T.S. Elliot so it was fun to see the character of Owen Wilson go back in time to mingle with these and other famous artists.

The Tree of Life, ok I don’t really know what to say about this one…..it was weird and strange! It had some nice imagery, sound and cinematography but as a whole I just couldn’t get into it and I like weird movies but this was just too much for me. Their wasnt a lot of dialogue, just a lot of trippy images and sound. I felt like I was watching a special on National Geographics.

Moneyball is the underdog story we all love. I was hesitant at first but couldn’t help but love this movie. It’s based on a true story, Jonah Hill is funny and Brads ok too, lol! The whole premise of the story and how brilliant it is was inspiring. I don’t know if it will win the Oscar but I really enjoyed it.

I don’t want to give my opinion on who will win because I haven’t seen all the movies yet. I will probably record the show and then watch it so I don’t have to sit through the commercials, lol!

Have a good night everybody!

Leave a Reply

