Oscar Night: Quick Best Motion Picture Roundup!

Ok, just a quick roundup of the Best Motion Picture Nominees I got to watch. I never got to finish The Theory of Everything and didn’t get to see The Grand Budapest Hotel so those are not included but 6 of our 8 is not bad!

AMERICAN SNIPER

I actually really liked this movie. I wish I had read the memoir before the movie but with a 1-year-old baby, 2 dogs and a full-time job #aintnobodygottimeforthat anymore, lol. From a mental health perspective, it was interesting to see him go from being in combat to coming home. I liked the contrasts in that and how difficult the adjustment can be. I would say this is a big contender for Best Motion Picture. Having Clint Eastwood as director doesn’t hurt either.

BIRDMAN

I’m not going to say much about this one because to be completely honest, I could not watch the whole thing, I fell asleep. It was a little slow for me and I just refused to watch something that doesn’t catch my attention in the first few minutes anymore. I know it got great reviews and other people loved it so if you are one of those people, please enlighten me.

BOYHOOD

I loved Boyhood. I loved the story, the actors, the way it spans over time. Brilliant! I also happen to love Ethan Hawke and I think he deserves Best Supporting Actor for this. It was also nice seeing Patricia Arquette in this role. I think of all the films, this is my favorite and my pick for Best Picture!!!!

THE IMITATION GAME

I enjoyed watching this. It was a little off beat and different from the rest. I liked the concept and how it was based on a real person. I read up a little about this character because I found him fascinating. Benedict Cumberbatch was amazing and should win Best Actor in a Leading Role.

SELMA

I thought this was really slow and just couldn’t watch the whole thing. Maybe I was tired and it deserves a re watch. I don’t know, but

WHIPLASH

I really liked Whiplash. I thought it reminded me a little of Black Swan in that both lead characters become obsessed with their art to the point of their own detriment. It was captivating and kept my attention but I don’t think this will be the winner.

Enjoy the show and let me know your pick!

Leave a Reply

